Title I Schools

What is Title I, Part A?

Title I, Part A of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) supports reforms and innovations to improve educational opportunities for economically disadvantaged students. In December 2015, President Obama signed into law the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) which again reauthorized ESEA.

ESSA includes provisions that broaden the definitions of educational excellence, while maintaining critical civil rights for all students. In addition, ESSA includes provisions designed to focus on providing students the diverse, integrated curriculum and learning experiences necessary for a well-rounded education. Title I, Part A of ESSA is designed to provide all children a significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close educational achievement gaps.

Forty-seven Lee County schools (including one charters) are identified as Title I schools. These schools have the highest concentrations of poverty based on the direct certification percentage of economically disadvantaged students enrolled at the school. Title I funds are used to improve the teaching and learning in these schools and to help students meet challenging state academic standards.

Which schools are identified as Title I in the 2024-25 School Year?

  1. Allen Park Elementary
  2. Amanecer Elementary
  3. Bonita Springs Elementary
  4. Buckingham Exceptional Student Center
  5. Caloosa Elementary
  6. Caloosa Middle
  7. Colonial Elementary
  8. Coronado High School
  9. Diplomat Elementary
  10. Dr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary
  11. Dunbar High
  12. East Lee County High
  13. Edgewood Elementary
  14. Fort Myers Middle Academy
  15. Franklin Park Elementary
  16. G. Weaver Hipps Elementary
  17. Gateway High
  18. Hancock Creek Elementary
  19. Harlem Heights Community Charter School
  20. Harns Marsh Elementary
  21. Harns Marsh Middle
  22. Hector A. Cafferata Jr. Elementary
  23. Island Coast High
  24. J. Colin English Elementary
  25. James Stephens Elementary
  26. Lee County Acceleration Academy
  27. Lehigh Acres Middle
  28. Lehigh Elementary
  29. Lehigh Senior High
  30. Lemuel Teal Middle
  31. Manatee Elementary
  32. Mirror Lakes Elementary
  33. North Nicholas High School
  34. Oak Hammock Middle
  35. Orange River Elementary
  36. Orangewood Elementary
  37. Patriot Elementary
  38. Ray V. Pottorf Elementary
  39. Royal Palm Exceptional Center
  40. San Carlos Park Elementary
  41. Skyline Elementary
  42. South Fort Myers High
  43. Spring Creek Elementary
  44. Success Academy
  45. Sunshine Elementary
  46. Tice Elementary
  47. Tortuga Preserve Elementary
  48. Tropic Isles Elementary
  49. Varsity Lakes Middle
  50. Veteran's Park Academy for the Arts
  51. Villas Elementary
  52. Young Parent Education Program

How Can Parents Be Involved?

Parents are very important in their child's education.  We invite and encourage parents to become involved in their child's school. There are many ways to be involved such as joining the School Advisory Council, participating in the School Improvement Plan process, reviewing the school's Parent Involvement Policy and Home-School Compact, planning parent involvement activities and workshops, becoming a member of the school's parent/teacher organization, or volunteering at school.  See more information about the School District of Lee County's Parent(s)/Guardian(s)and Family Engagement