2024 Lee County Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

2024 Lee County Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced
Posted on 01/30/2024
2024 Lee County Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The School District of Lee County is pleased to announce the Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame inductees for 2024. Five athletes, two coaches, and one contributor are being recognized for their outstanding athletic accomplishments for their school or their students.

Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame Class of 2024

Kiara Desamours - Dunbar High School
Antwan Dixon - South Fort Myers High School
Holly Fritz - Mariner High School
Brittani Houghton - Fort Myers High School
Frankie Luster - Estero High School

David Phillips - Mariner High School
Dave Trepkowski - Ida S. Baker High School

Dr. John Kagan - Fort Myers High School

Kiara Desamours: Desamours led the Dunbar Lady Tigers her freshman year to the first girls’ basketball state championship in Lee County, leading the team in scoring, rebounding and steals. She was News-Press Girls Basketball Player of the Year and the News Press Athlete of the Year in 2012. In subsequent years, Kiara earned All-Area Honors and All-State Honors. The Dunbar Lady Tigers made it to the Final 4 all four years of her playing career and played in three championship games.

Antwan Dixon: Dixon was a 12-time Varsity Letterman at South Fort Myers High School. He played four years of varsity football, Basketball and Track. In football, he was the 2014 WINK News Player of the Year, News Press All Area Defensive Player of the Year, First Team All-District Defense, First Team All-State Defense and the FACA State All Star Game Most Valuable Player. In track, Dixon was a three-time District Champion in the 100 meters, four-time District Champion in the 4X100 meter relay, and 2015 State Champion in the 4X100.

Holly Fritz: Fritz played four seasons of Girls’ Soccer for Mariner High School and earned All-County and All-State Honors her freshman, sophomore and junior season before graduating early. She was named Team MVP three times, and set county and school records for most goals scored in a season (66) and in a career (185). Mariner won three District Championships and was runner up in the fourth. Fritz was her class Valedictorian with a 5.91 GPA.

Brittani Houghton: Houghton was a four-time LCAC All-County Team selection in Girls’ Softball. She was Fort Myers High School’s 1998 Defensive MVP, 1999 Offensive MVP, and Team MVP in 2000 and 2001. Houghton is 7th in the National High School Record book for most strikeouts in an extra inning game. At Stetson University, she was voted to the ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America Third Team in 2005 and in 2010 inducted into the Stetson Athletics Hall of Fame.

Frankie Luster: Luster was a standout athlete in both football and track at Estero High School. He earned All-LCAC honors and All-SWFL as a defensive back in 1988 and 1999. In 1989 and 1990 he was named to the LCAC All-Offense Team and All-SWFL as a running back. In track, Luster was named All-LCAC and All-SWFL in the 300 Hurdles and an FHSAA State Qualifier in 1990. Mississippi State University offered Luster Estero High School’s first 4-year scholarship to play football.

David Phillips: Phillips was the Head Wrestling Coach at Mariner High School for 21 years. He won four District Championships, three LCAC Championships and one Regional Championship. His teams were District runner ups eight times and LCAC runner ups eight times. They also placed in the Top 10 at the State Championship eight times. Phillips coached 49 state qualifiers, 25 of which placed in the Top 6 and five won state championships. He was inducted into the Florida Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2022.

Dave Trepkowski: Trepkowski was the Girls’ Soccer Coach at Ida S. Baker High School for eight years and led his team to the school’s only state championship in 2012. Coach Trepkowski compiled an impressive record of 150 wins, 31 loses, and 21 ties. During the 2009-10 season he led the Bulldogs on a 27-game winning streak, the longest in the history of Girls’ High School Soccer in Lee County.

Dr. John Kagan: Dr. Kagan volunteered his medical services as team physician at Fort Myers High School from 1990 to 2023. To ensure the safety of student athletes in the early 1990’s, he paid for the county’s first on-site medical trainer at Fort Myers High School. Dr. Kagan provide a trainer to FMHS until he closed his practice in 2023. Dr. Kagan and his wife Liz kick started the fundraising drive for the first synthetic turf football field in the District with a $250,000 donation.

The inductees will be honored at a banquet scheduled for Thursday, April 18th, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. The banquet will begin at 6:00 p.m. and tickets are available for purchase for $30 per person. Tickets are available online at https://gofan.co/ or by calling the District Athletic Office at 239-335-1479.