Twenty-one Schools Earn Level 1 Certification in Marzano High Reliability Schools™

Twenty-one Schools Earn Level 1 Certification in Marzano High Reliability Schools™
Posted on 02/01/2024
Twenty-one Schools Earn Level 1 Certification in Marzano High Reliability Schools™

The School District of Lee County is proud to announce 21 schools have achieved Level 1 Certification in Marzano High Reliability Schools™. Level 1 certification means these schools have created a “Safe, Supportive, and Collaborative Culture,” which is the foundation for improved student achievement and effective day-to-day school operations. The five-level Marzano High Reliability hierarchy and framework transform schools into organizations where teachers and leaders take proactive steps to ensure student success.

Teacher leaders and school leaders opted into a six-day High Reliability Schools Academy over the 2022-2023 school year to collect data, analyze data, and develop an action plan to fulfill each indicator for Level 1. The Level 1 Certified Schools join a cohort of 11 previously Level 1 certified schools in the District and 672 Level 1 Certified schools across the United States

Representatives from the District and the 21 schools were honored this week by Marzano Resources at the High Reliability Schools Summit in San Antonio, Texas. The schools achieving Level 1 Certification are:

Buckingham Exceptional Student Center
Principal Dr. Vicki Gohagen-Mosley

Allen Park Elementary
Principal Melissa Booth 

Colonial Elementary
Principal Eric Washington

Fort Myers Beach Elementary
Principal Dr. Traci Kohler

Franklin Park Elementary
Principal Dr. Mia German

Gateway Elementary
Principal Cherry Gibson

Harns Marsh Elementary
Principal Cynthia Hernandez

Lehigh Elementary
Principal Jackson Morgan

Mirror Lakes Elementary
Principal Amy Bobak

Patriot Elementary
Principal Elizabeth Feliciano

Pelican Elementary
Principal Clint Garlick

Spring Creek Elementary
Principal Jillian Fiora

Tortuga Elementary
Principal Jennifer Shonak

Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts
Principal Melissa Layner

Mariner Middle
Principal Dr. Mason Clark

Three Oaks Middle
Principal Forrest Walker Jr.

Trafalgar Middle
Principal Leigh Ann Cain

The Alva School
Dr. Nathan Shaker

East Lee County High
Principal Tony Allen

Lehigh Senior High
Principal Darya Grote

North Fort Myers High
Principal Debbie Diggs

The School District of Lee County is also proud to recognize four teachers for achieving High-Reliability Level 1 Certification. High Reliability Level 1 Teacher Certification means that educators understand and implement a model of instruction, engage in deliberate practice related to growth goals, and monitor the impact of instruction on student achievement.

The four teachers are:
• Anastasia Graflund, Professional Development
• Laura Jordan, Caloosa Elementary
• Katie Marquis, Professional Development
• Mindy Stoddard, Professional Development

The High Reliability Teacher Program encourages and celebrates teacher effectiveness. The multi-level certification process recognizes the advancement of a teacher's pedagogical skills and knowledge in the effective use of instructional strategies, student learning, and feedback. To achieve Level 1 Certification, teachers must submit a variety of tasks that are scored by current and retired educators with proven success in improving instruction.

Certification is determined by Marzano Resources analysts in cooperation with school data teams. Using the HRS framework and indicators, schools can drive sustained, positive, and significant impacts on student achievement by synthesizing multiple complex initiatives into one harmonious system.