Suncoast Scholarships

SimpLEE the Best Suncoast Credit Union

The Suncoast Credit Union Foundation's goal is to assist with creating a local pipeline of educators to aid in our current teacher shortage. Our District is extremely thankful for the generous donations from The Suncoast Credit Union Foundation for the past three years. In total, we have received $150,000 for scholarship opportunities to current employees.

Suncoast Teacher Retention Scholarship

FY24 Suncoast Teacher Retention Scholarships are available for current 2nd or 3rd year teachers working at a Tier III school with an expiring temporary certificate. The scholarship will help pay for coursework required for his/her professional certificate. Scholarships are valid for one year, and all coursework must be successfully completed by the end of the 23-24 school year. Recipients will be required to sign a commitment agreement to remain employed with the School District of Lee County for at least 3 years, effective at the time of scholarship acceptance.

Applicants may select the institution they'd like to attend and receive up to the total amounts listed below:

  • Florida Gulf Coast University - $3,059.10
  • Florida Southern College - $3,125.00
  • Florida Southwestern State College - $1,885.65

Scholarship Eligibility

To be eligible for a FY24 Suncoast Teacher Retention Scholarship, the applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be a current SDLC employee at a Tier III school teaching a critical shortage area
  • Must have 1-2 years remaining on a temporary certificate
  • Successful completion of the APPLES Program
  • Successfully passed the General Knowledge exam
  • Effective or highly/effective managers rating
  • Recommended for reappointment 
  • Commit to three years in the district 

To apply, please complete the Suncoast Teacher Retention Scholarship Please complete the entire application to be considered for one of the scholarships by 11:59 PM on Friday, March 31. Applications will be reviewed by the Recruitment Scholarship Committee, and finalists will be selected based on Principal referrals.