Title I Schools

What is Title I, Part A?

Title I, Part A of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) supports reforms and innovations to improve educational opportunities for economically disadvantaged students. In December 2015, President Obama signed into law the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) which again reauthorized ESEA.

ESSA includes provisions that broaden the definitions of educational excellence, while maintaining critical civil rights for all students. In addition, ESSA includes provisions designed to focus on providing students the diverse, integrated curriculum and learning experiences necessary for a well-rounded education. Title I, Part A of ESSA is designed to provide all children a significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close educational achievement gaps.

Forty-five Lee County schools (including one charters) are identified as Title I schools. These schools have the highest concentrations of poverty based on the direct certification percentage of economically disadvantaged students enrolled at the school. Title I funds are used to improve the teaching and learning in these schools and to help students meet challenging state academic standards.

Which schools are identified as Title I in the 2021-22 School Year?

  1. Allen Park Elementary
  2. Bonita Springs Elementary
  3. Buckingham Exceptional Student Center
  4. Caloosa Middle
  5. Colonial Elementary
  6. Dr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary
  7. Dunbar High
  8. East Lee County High
  9. Edgewood Elementary
  10. Fort Myers Middle Academy
  11. Franklin Park Elementary
  12. G. Weaver Hipps Elementary
  13. Gateway High
  14. Hancock Creek Elementary
  15. Harlem Heights Community Charter School
  16. Harns Marsh Elementary
  17. Harns Marsh Middle
  18. Hector A. Cafferata Jr. Elementary
  19. Island Coast High
  20. J. Colin English Elementary
  21. James Stephens Elementary
  22. Lee Adolescent Mothers Program (LAMP)
  23. Lehigh Elementary
  24. Lehigh Acres Middle
  25. Lehigh Senior High
  26. Manatee Elementary
  27. Mirror Lakes Elementary
  28. Oak Hammock Middle
  29. Orange River Elementary
  30. Orangewood Elementary
  31. Patriot Elementary
  32. Ray V. Pottorf Elementary
  33. River Hall Elementary
  34. Royal Palm Exceptional Center
  35. San Carlos Park Elementary
  36. South Fort Myers High
  37. Spring Creek Elementary
  38. Success Academy
  39. Sunshine Elementary
  40. Tice Elementary
  41. Tortuga Preserve Elementary
  42. Tropic Isles Elementary
  43. Varsity Lakes Middle
  44. Veteran's Park Academy for the Arts
  45. Villas Elementary

How Can Parents Be Involved?

Parents are very important in their child's education.  We invite and encourage parents to become involved in their child's school. There are many ways to be involved such as joining the School Advisory Council, participating in the School Improvement Plan process, reviewing the school's Parent Involvement Policy and Home-School Compact, planning parent involvement activities and workshops, becoming a member of the school's parent/teacher organization, or volunteering at school.  See more information about the School District of Lee County's Parent(s)/Guardian(s)and Family Engagement