Students Honored as Carson Scholars

Students Honored as Carson Scholars
Posted on 03/23/2022
Students Honored as Carson Scholars

The School District of Lee County is excited to announce 29 students have been honored as 2022 Carson Scholars. The Carson Scholars Fund will provide each student with a $1,000 College Scholarship.

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities. Each school is able to nominate one student to apply. Carson Scholars must have a minimum GPA of 3.75 and display humanitarian qualities through community service.

The 29 students honored as Carson Scholars this year are:

  • Olivia Bond Cypress Lake High School 10
  • Kalia Boston Franklin Park Elementary 5
  • Zoe Bott Tropic Isles Elementary 5
  • Megan Buchhofer Diplomat Elementary 5
  • Jacob Budmayr The Alva School 5
  • Logan Burton Lee Virtual School 5
  • Sophie Chaoui North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts 5
  • Sonala Ciceron Colonial Elementary School 5
  • John Cintron Fort Myers High School 11
  • Taylor Fox Edison Park Creative and Expressive Arts School 5
  • Kylee Hutchins Skyline Elementary 5
  • Patrick Kunkel Pine Island Elementary 5
  • Harper Lahiff River Hall Elementary 5
  • Katherine Lawrence Orangewood Elementary 5
  • Kennedy Manetta San Carlos Park Elementary 5
  • Sidney McConnell Tice Elementary 5
  • Janelly Mendoza J. Colin English Elementary 5
  • Ry'sean Miller Orange River Elementary 5
  • Edvin Monroy Palma Villas Elementary 5
  • Madilyn Montgomery Dr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary 5
  • Zavion Murray Lehigh Elementary 4
  • Eann Myers North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts 5
  • Helen Padron G. Weaver Hipps Elementary 5
  • Vlad Paraschiv Veterans Park Academy for the Arts 4
  • Beck Reed Pinewoods Elementary 5
  • Drea Rose Tanglewood Elementary 5
  • Max Shen The Sanibel School 5
  • Bella Vest Heights Elementary 5
  • Ayva Wallis Sunshine Elementary 5

74 students in the School District of Lee County are earning Carson Scholar Recognition in 2022. Carson Scholar Recognition is an elite honor that affirms the prestigious status of Carson Scholars in their pursuit of academic and career goals. Ten are high school seniors who have earned Carson Scholar Recognition status every year since being honored as a Carson Scholar in elementary school.

  • Hannah Blasetti North Fort Myers High School
  • Dinah Ceilley Fort Myers High School
  • Jacob Ellis Ida Baker High School
  • Gina Garcia Lehigh Senior High School
  • Natalee Jones Cape Coral High School
  • Yasmin Martinez Dunbar High School
  • Maddison McCreary North Fort Myers High School
  • Chella Rivera Riverdale High School
  • Emily Waters Cape Coral High School
  • Donald Woelke North Fort Myers High School

The Carson Scholars Fund, Inc. was founded in 1994 by now retired world-renowned Johns Hopkins Pediatric Neurosurgeon Benjamin S. Carson, M.D. and his wife, Candy to address the education crisis in the United States. They believed that if children could be taught early to excel, they would stay motivated and have a higher chance of educational success later in life.