Twentynine Students Honored as Carson Scholars

Twentynine Students Honored as Carson Scholars
Posted on 03/17/2021
Twentynine Students Honored as Carson Scholars

The School District of Lee County is excited to announce 29 students have been honored as 2021 Carson Scholars. The Carson Scholars Fund will provide each student with a $1,000 College Scholarship.

The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities. Each school is able to nominate one student to apply. Carson Scholars must have a minimum GPA of 3.75 and display humanitarian qualities through community service.

The 29 students honored as Carson Scholars this year are:


Magdalena Abella: Oak Hammock Middle School
Delaney Beougher: Dr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary School
Issac Cirilo: Colonial Elementary School
Austin Couly: Caloosa Elementary School
Alivia Davis: Ray V. Pottorf Elementary School
Sebastian Diaz: Lee Virtual School
Gladys Gonzalez: Lehigh Elementary School
Hendrix Kohn: Edison Park Elementary School
Valkyrie McClellan: Mirror Lakes Elementary School
Brody Meyer: Skyline Elementary School
Matthew Miller: Heights Elementary School
Janaiya Montrond: J. Colin English Elementary School
Karime Morales Diaz: Orange River Elementary School
Marissa Morgan: Gateway Elementary School
Elisha Nicholson: Tanglewood Elementary School
Leslie Nicles: Tropic Isles Elementary School
Christopher Ottolini: Riverdale High School
Maxon Palomba: Pinewoods Elementary School
Mason Pequigney: Villas Elementary School
Katherine Reid: Allen Park Elementary School
Kaitlyn Rider: Diplomat Elementary School
Geoffrey Selby: The Sanibel School
Kiera Singer: Pine Island Elementary School
Jayden Smith: North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
Leah Swanson: The Alva School
Adelle Thomas: San Carlos Park Elementary School
Levi Townsend: Bayshore Elementary School
Gwendolyn Wallace: Orangewood Elementary School
Ethan Zigrand: Edgewood Academy

80 students in the School District of Lee County are earning Carson Scholar Recognition in 2021. Carson Scholar Recognition is an elite honor that affirms the prestigious status of Carson Scholars in their pursuit of academic and career goals. Eight of those 80 have earned Carson Scholar status every year of eligibility:

2021 Recognized Carson Scholars
Mackenizie Cash: North Fort Myers High School
Cassidy Dameron: Estero High School
Alexandra Dorofeev: Fort Myers High School
Shannon Dougherty: Cape Coral High School
Alexandria Henson: North Fort Myers High School
Gretchen Lloyd: Fort Myers High School
Christian Perkins: North Fort Myers High School
Alexandra Polk: Fort Myers High School

The Carson Scholars Fund, Inc. was founded in 1994 by now retired world-renowned Johns Hopkins Pediatric Neurosurgeon Benjamin S. Carson, M.D. and his wife, Candy to address the education crisis in the United States. They believed that if children could be taught early to excel, they would stay motivated and have a higher chance of educational success later in life. The 10,000th scholarship was just awarded this year.