Awards Banquet for 2020 Athletic Conference Hall of Fame Inductees

Awards Banquet for 2020 Athletic Conference Hall of Fame Inductees
Posted on 01/24/2020
Awards Banquet for 2020 Athletic Conference Hall of Fame Inductees

We are pleased to announce the Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame inductees for 2020. The inductees will be honored at a banquet scheduled for Thursday, April 23rd, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. The banquet will begin at 6:00 p.m. and tickets are available for purchase for $25/person.

The Crowne Plaza Hotel is located at 13051 Bell Tower Drive, Fort Myers. Those interested in purchasing tickets should email David LaRosa

Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame Class of 2020


Kurt Benkert played football at Island Coast High School. His senior year he threw for 2,261 yards along with 20 touchdowns. He was 1st Team All- Area and 3rd Team All State. At the University of Virginia, he is 3rd all-time in the record books for career passing yards and touchdowns. He signed with the Atlanta Falcons as a free agent.

Thomas “Tommy” Bohanon played football at North Fort Myers High School where he was All-District, All-Conference and All Area in football and baseball. Selected MVP of the Rotary South All Star Football Game. He attended Wake Forest on a football scholarship and was team captain in 2012. He was drafted in the 7th round by the New York Jets.

Lynda Brown Case played golf at North Fort Myers High School from 1971-1976 where she was the schools Most Valuable Golfer. She went on to be the Southwest Florida Amateur Winner, Florida State Amateur Winner, Southern Amateur Winner and made the Intercollegiate All State Team. She turned pro in 1983 and won 4 mini-tour tournaments from 1983-89 along with qualifying to play in 3 US Women’s Opens 1983, 1985, and 1996.

Brodrick Jenkins, graduated in 2009 from South Fort Myers High School. He was a 3-sport athlete (Football, Basketball, Track). While in high school Brodrick was voted Class 3A Third – Team All-State, he was one of seven Southwest Florida players invited to play in the Florida Athletic Coaches Association North – South All-Star Game and was the District 16 Player of the Year. Brodrick went on to play at West Virginia University.

Kacy Smith ran at Estero High School for the legendary coach Jeff Sommer. In 2010 she was the individual Girls State Cross Country Champion. To go along with the individual cross country state title, in 2012 she won two state titles in track, the 1600 meters and as a member of the 4x800 meters state champion relay team. After high school Kacy ran at the University of Mississippi.


Cyndi Capel started as the Athletic Administrative Assistant at Cypress Lake High School in 1997. In 2002 she went to Mariner High School in the same role. She has been instrumental for all of the processes and procedure in that role at both schools and has been a guiding force for all of the Athletic Administrative Assistants during that time. Not sure what the shelf life is for an Athletic Administrative Assistant but her 22 plus years of experience, knowledge, and work ethic is unmatched.

Frank Drake coached wrestling at North Fort Myers High School from 1980 until 2015. Because of the successful career he had, he was inducted in both the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and the Florida State Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

Stephanie Martin has been coaching in Lee County for 29 years (Cape Coral, Cypress Lake and Fort Myers.) She has accumulated over 600 wins as a coach, along with coach of the year honors spanning 22 years. Her teams have been to the state finals eight times. She is a member of the Florida Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Andre McGill Sr coached basketball in Lee County for 38 years. He is one of only two coaches in the history of Lee County to lead both a boys and girls high school team to the FHSAA Final 4. His 1984 girls’ team at Fort Myers High lost in the finals and his Dunbar 2008 and 2015 boys’ teams lost in the semifinals of the FHSAA State Championship Tournament.