Young Five Program Enrolling New Students

Young Five Program Enrolling New Students
Posted on 12/09/2022
Young Five Program Enrolling New Students

The School District of Lee County is excited to announce that The Young Five Program is currently enrolling new students. The Young Five Program is for students who are eligible for kindergarten and would benefit from an extra year of social and emotional development.

“The Young Five Program will offer a learning environment tailored to meet the needs of students with late spring and summer birthdays who would benefit from additional time with school readiness,” says Dr. Bethany Quisenberry, Director of Elementary Curriculum and Instruction. “Young Five students will have a certified teacher who will provide engaging lessons in literacy, math, social/emotional, and motor skills developmentally appropriate for their age.”

To qualify, students must turn five years old between May 1st and September 1st, 2023. Ten Schools are offering The Young Five Program:

East Zone

  • Lehigh Elementary
  • River Hall Elementary
  • Sunshine Elementary

South Zone

  • Colonial Elementary
  • Edgewood Academy
  • Orangewood Elementary
  • San Carlos Park Elementary
  • Spring Creek Elementary

West Zone

  • J. Colin English Elementary
  • Patriot Elementary

The Young Five program is based on the Kindergarten curriculum with focus placed on math and literacy and the development of social and motor skills. Classroom instruction is designed to provide children an opportunity to learn in a hands-on, interactive environment that supports their development on maintaining the rigor and high standards of Kindergarten.

Parents with questions can email [email protected] or call one of the schools offering the program.