Four Students Named Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program

Four Students Named Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program
Posted on 09/11/2019
National Merit Scholarship Program Logo

Congratulations to Cape Coral High School Seniors Tan Hollman and Hankyeol Yang and Fort Myers High School seniors Benjamin Lombardo and Sydney Marcy for being named today as Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit® Scholarship Program. National Merit® Semifinalists represent less than 1% of all high school seniors.

“We are so proud of Tan Hollman and Hankyeol Yang, our two National Merit® Scholarship semifinalists,” says Cape Coral High School Principal Christian Engelhart. “This is an accomplishment that is reserved for the highest achieving students in America and is a testament to the intelligence and hard work of these two young men. On behalf of the entire Cape Coral High School family, congratulations Tan and Hank!”

More than 1.5 million high school students entered the 65th Annual National Merit® Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). Only 16,000 qualified as semifinalists.

“We are very proud of Ben and Sydney for all of the hard work that they have done to reach this point of being a National Merit Semi-Finalist,” says Fort Myers High School Principal Dr. Robert Butz. “They have progressed to be in a very elite group of young people, and they are great representatives of Fort Myers High School.”

Two District Charter Schools also have National Merit® Scholarship Program Semifinalists: Angelina Cintron at Florida SouthWestern Collegiate High School and Kiera Kistner at Oasis Charter High School.

These academically talented high school seniors now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. More than 90% of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.