Press Release by

A brand new STEM opportunity in Southwest Florida… 4th and 5th grade Elementary Science Expo participants were invited to apply for scholarships to attend a FREE summer research opportunity, called STEM Buccaneers Camp, that is being offered by the School District of Lee County (SDLC) and hosted by the School of Pure and Applied Sciences at Florida SouthWestern State College (FSW).

This two-week STEM experience in July (16-27) involves laboratory work in the FSW science labs and field research on the college campus. As STEM Buccaneers, students will be involved in research projects conducted by FSW faculty and teachers from Lee County.

The STEM Buccaneers program was founded in 2017 by the School District of Lee County and student scholarship is made possible through Title IV, Part A - Student Support and Academic Enrichment (SSAE) funds. Additional support is being provided by Florida SouthWestern State College and the Thomas Alva Edison Regional Science and Inventors Fairs. We are honored to announce the inaugural class of STEM Buccaneers…

  1. Nicholas Sheehy - Diplomat Elementary School
  2. Fernando Ferragut - Diplomat Elementary School
  3. Shaniya Addison - Edgewood Academy
  4. Kemareah Holloway - Edison Park Creative and Expressive Arts School
  5. Ryan Hunter - Franklin Park Elementary School
  6. Aiden Persaud - Gateway Elementary School
  7. Angie Joseph - Harns Marsh Elementary School
  8. Daisy Hayes - Harns Marsh Elementary School
  9. Jaquelyn Olvera-Gualito - Harns Marsh Elementary School
  10. Lourdes Grimes - Hector A. Cafferata Jr. Elementary School
  11. Lilyana Schollianos - Heights Elementary School
  12. Hasan Mujahid - Home School Education
  13. Isabella Johnson - Manatee Elementary School
  14. Andrea Gabrielli - North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
  15. Barbara Figueroa - North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
  16. Sajid Khan - Orangewood Elementary School
  17. Cypress Cohen - River Hall Elementary School
  18. Madelyn Peterman - River Hall Elementary School
  19. Sarah Redford - River Hall Elementary School
  20. Leah Cevallos - Spring Creek Elementary School
  21. Bryce Colyer - Spring Creek Elementary School
  22. Luke Livingston - The Alva School
  23. Ann Marie Sheenan - Tortuga Preserve Elementary School
  24. William Sherman - Trafalgar Elementary School
  25. Zachary Morris - Trafalgar Elementary School
  26. Pablo Gomez - Trafalgar Elementary School
  27. Turner Engvalson - Tropic Isles Elementary School
  28. Mya Jenkinson - Villas Elementary School
  29. Jace Jenkinson - Villas Elementary School