The Lee County School District is proud to announce that 11 of our principals are finalists in the News-Press People of the Year nominations.  Each principal is in charge of one of the 11 schools that opened as a shelter for people in need during Hurricane Irma.  The principals are recognized for their efforts to house, feed, care for, and sometimes entertain thousands of people and pets during the hurricane. 

They are nominated collectively as The Lee County Principals and are up against Sandy Stilwell Youngquist, CEO and owner of Stilwell Youngquist Enterprises and Restaurant Group, and Robert Cacioppo, Founder and Producing Artistic Director at Florida Repertory Theatre.

Superintendent Greg Adkins is very proud of the principals, "These 11 administrators and the countless employees they led during Hurricane Irma worked for days, on very little sleep, during a stressful situation, to make sure that every evacuee felt safe, comfortable and taken care of."

Whether or not they receive the recognition they are all winners to us!  Congratulations to our nominees!

The People of the Year event is held at the Suncoast Credit Union Arena located at 13351 FSW Parkway in Fort Myers on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 8:00 p.m.