The School District of Lee County is proud to announce that 15 schools have earned the Five Star School Award. This symbol of achievement recognizes schools that have demonstrated exemplary community involvement. To qualify for this award, a school must achieve 100% of the required criteria and maintain a portfolio that documents the achievement of criterion in five areas: Community/Business Partnership; Family Involvement; Volunteers; Student Community Service; and, the School Advisory Council.

The Lee County schools earning this honor for the 2016-17 school year are:

  • Bayshore Elementary 
  • Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts
  • Caloosa Middle
  • Cypress Lake High
  • Franklin Park Elementary
  • G. Weaver Hipps Elementary
  • Ida S. Baker High
  • J. Colin English Elementary
  • Lehigh Elementary
  • North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
  • Pelican Elementary
  • Tanglewood Elementary
  • Three Oaks Elementary
  • Three Oaks Middle
  • Villas Elementary

The School Improvement and Accountability Legislation is built upon the active involvement of parents, guardians, business people, and other community members in an effort to improve Florida’s schools. The legislative intent is to return the responsibility for education to those closest to the students – the schools, teachers, and parents. Recognizing that the involvement of the community is vital to student success, the Commissioner of Education and the Commissioner’s Community Involvement Council established the Five Star School Award, the highest award for community involvement.